Excel Guides

Default Cell Movement when Deleting in Excel

When you delete cells in Excel, the default behavior is for the remaining cells to move up to fill the empty space. However, you can change this behavior so that the cells below the deleted cells move up, instead. To do this, follow these steps:

  1. Click the File tab, and then click Options.
  2. In the Advanced category, under Editing options, clear or select the Allow cell drag and drop check box to specify whether you can use the mouse to move cells.
  3. Clear the check box if you want to disable cell drag-and-drop.
  4. Select the check box if you want to enable cell drag-and-drop.
  5. Click OK.

Now when you delete cells, the default behavior will be for the cells below to move up. This can be helpful if you have a lot of data in your spreadsheet and need to make some room without disrupting the existing data too much.

Move beyond 

Excel

Get started with Causal today.
Build models effortlessly, connect them directly to your data, and share them with interactive dashboards and beautiful visuals.